What's new

General Questions about Purchasing an RPTV (1 Viewer)

Matt Stone

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Matt Stone
Well, the day is almost here. I've been saving for 6 months, and come late October I will purchase a new Panny 53WX42. Since I'm reletively young (20), I've got a few symantics questions regarding the purchase. First, do you veterans prefer buying online, or buying from a B&M. I was considering Onecall, but then I thought I could haggle if I just bought it from BB...what do you guys think.

And the big question is, what do I have to do to get the delivery guys to bring it up to my apartment. I live on the 3rd floor of a building that doesn't have any elevators...and I'd probably need get it out of the box in the hallway too. I could have a friend or two help with most of it, but I'd rather have them do the lifting, so I don't damage it.

Thanks for the help...

BruceSpielbauer

Second Unit
I would buy almost anything for my Home Theater on-line, and I often do (DVD players, receivers, speakers, etc.)

There is ONE item I personally will not buy on-line, though: a large TV set.

All on-line dealers I have checked will NOT give you that "30 day return it for money back," or "30 day exchange," or "30 day trade up," etc. Once you accept delivery, that is it. You own that set. If you find a major defect 30 minutes after the delivery guys leave, you must now deal with the normal warranty process.

I do buy from OneCall, and I do trust them. They are great. I bought my current DVD player from them. Great E-Tailer (or phone order dealer). However, I have read their policies, and the above is true of them, and all others I have checked, and all I have heard of.

==============