What's new

Gateway Plasma - I think I'm gonna buy it (newbie here, is this a bad choice?) (1 Viewer)

Hello,
I have been reading these forums for awhile now trying to decide which TV to get. I was originally going to get the Samsung 3298HF (nice price and good features), but I have recently decided to go with the Gateway Plasma TV (for only $2999!). Before I commit to this purchase, I just wondered if this was a mistake? Is there any drawbacks you guys forsee with this TV? I noticed it is EDTV, what does that mean? Can it still get the HD broadcast? Yes, I have searched this forum for info on it, but I thought I would ask directly as well to see if anyone had any new thoughts on it? Also, I am thinking of buying this to save space, so please don't recommend a big projection TV instead because my living room just won't fit something like that.

Thank You,
Andrew

Corey Holter

Agent
Do yourself a favor and look at the Panasonic 42" plasma. I think the price is very close and this is the benchmark plasma in the 42" category. Panny sells both an EDTV model and an HDTV model. I believe the EDTV model can be found for around $3,500 on the web. This is the model that I have and I'm very happy with it.

Bill Lucas

Supporting Actor
I believe it is based on a Sampo platform. If this is the case then yes, it's a mistake. It's not a good buy.

Well, The Panasonic is about $1000 more (once you add shipping, etc) so I just went ahead and ordered the Gateway model. I hope I made the right choice...

Andrew

TonyTone

Supporting Actor
I think there is a thread on the avsforum where the Gateway is discussed; basically, unless you're looking to buy a cheap plasma just because it's a plasma--you're better off spending a little more for the Panasonic 42" SD plasma. Yes, it only does 480p but if you plan on watching mostly DVDs and SD broadcasts, the picture quality on the SD model beats that on more than a few HD (720p or higher) models, from what I've read.

Gregory Scott Bass