GameCube/PS2/X-Box Connection to a Monitor Question

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Morgan Jolley, Aug 4, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Morgan Jolley

    Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    8,654
    Likes Received:
    107
    I'm going off to college and I fear I'm going to be stuck with my roommate's crappy 13" TV/VCR combo. How can I connect my GameCube/PS2/X-Box to my 19" flat-screen LCD monitor so I can play on that instead of his crappy piece? Is there a cable I can get or at least an adapter? I have the proper video inputs on my computer itself so I can watch video from a device, but because of the delay between the device and the video, it would be impractical.
     
  2. David Galindo

    David Galindo Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive looked all over for something like that, and I got it through Ebay. Search there for "monitor vga box".

    For OK quality, use S-video VGA switches ($20). For high-def, use component VGA boxes ($80). S-Video looks kinda blurry on a monitor, but its OK.
     
  3. DaveGTP

    DaveGTP Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here was the first couple of hits I got - it supposedly does Xbox and GC:

    http://www.viewonline.com/pages/arti...ationgcvga.htm

    I couldn't find anyplace selling it, though...


    Here's one that looks like it might work:

    http://www.allmediaoutlet.com/allmed...-group-559.htm

    I wish the picture was bigger, but squinting at it, it looks right.

    I've got a lot of game systems, so I'm used to digging up crazy universal cables, adapters, etc. [​IMG]


    Other than that, you can use any a/v-to-vga box, or component-to-vga box, but I think the ones that directly use output from the console would be better video quality.
     
  4. Morgan Jolley

    Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    8,654
    Likes Received:
    107
    Could I get a regular a/v-to-vga box at a Radio Shack or something like that? I'd prefer to do it that way, simply for returning issues. Also, I don't mind if the image isn't perfect; it's just got to be good enough to play.
     
  5. David Galindo

    David Galindo Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, but I didnt know Radio Shack carried something like that. Better call and ask first.
     
  6. Morgan Jolley

    Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    8,654
    Likes Received:
    107
    I'm asking if Radio Shack carries something like that. I'll try to find out this week. Otherwise, I'm getting something online.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  7. Jonathan_Clarke

    Jonathan_Clarke Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could I use this on the PC input of a plasma screen. I've got the s video and component used up and the PC is just sitting there.
     
  8. Leo

    Leo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a product that lets you do Xbox, PS2, Gamecube to VGA: http://www.vdigi.com/ They only accept PayPal at this point. I ordered one and it shipped from HK on the 6th of October, so I'll be glad to give my feedback after it arrives.

    A few details from the product page:
    Progressive Scan 480p, 720p, 540p / 1080i
    2 In 1 Out (YrPrPb In & VGA In; VGA Out) with switching
    XBOX, GC, PS2*HDTV Output Supported,*P.Scan DVD player,*& HDTV cable receiver.*
    High compatibility for CRT, LCD monitors
    Auto*signal detection.*
    Easy configuration
    Brightness adjustment
     
  9. Vinito

    Vinito Extra

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    aww shyiet, never knew i could do that. goodbye 10' tv, ps2 meet 17' monitor [​IMG]
     
  10. Leo

    Leo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I received my VDigi VD-Z3 today via US Mail (it shipped from HK on the 6th of Oct. Very professional packaging - included the Component to VGA transcoder, power supply, Xbox HD cable, detailed instructions and quick setup card for Xbox. So all I had to do was make sure the appropriate dip-switches were flipped all the needed connections made, and viola, I was up and running. I went into video settings to turn on 720p so I could test Soul Calibur. Let me say - oh my goodness, what a wonderful site. So for those of you interested in running your Xbox, PS2 or Gamecube in higher resolutions and are limited in funds (don't wanna fork over money for a HDTV display) or in college and have limited room space, then this $60 product is well worth it. - HiGHLY RECOMMENDED.
     
  11. Tom Veillette

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome. Good to hear. i am very interested in this product, and was waiting for your review.
    I am interested in doing the same.
    I do have a quick question.
    My monitor has a MAX resolution of 800x600 (seriously, it's a 27 inch gateway Destination, all I can afford really. My good stuff went bye-byre because I have a daughter due in a month)
    Do you think that this will cause any problems?
    I'm afraid 800x600 will be too low for this unit.
     
  12. Leo

    Leo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure of the minimum resolution, but per this quote you should be ok:

    Q: What monitor can use VD-Z3?


    A: VD-Z3 provide a standard VGA signal (RGBHV & RGBs), most of the monitor with standard VGA input will support without any problems.

    I have posted a question to the manufacturer.
     

Share This Page