Gamecube Dolby

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Jason Quillen, Dec 27, 2002.

1. Jason Quillen

Jason Quillen Supporting Actor

Hey Everyone,
    I just got an HT in a box for XMas (I know, but I also got an outlaw so parts are already getting swapped out - and I'm a college student so HT in a box is better than nothing!) - Anyway, I was playing Metroid and noticed the Dolby logo at the beginning, so today I went to search for the digital cable I'd need to get Dolby working. I thought I found the right thing with a monster cable, but it still connects to my reciever though the Gamecube analog output. Do digial cables exist for the Gamecube? And is there anyway to get the Dolby working, or am I just still to new to the HT scene and I'm completely overlooking something?
    Thanks,
    JQ

2. Lee M T

Lee M T Second Unit

No digital cables exist for the GameCube because the system only runs Dolby Pro Logic and Dolby Pro Logic II. These are both surround sounds that can be acheived through stereo signals. So standard RCA audio cables will work. You'll need Digital Cables for Xbox and PS2 as they can do everything the GameCube does, plus Dolby Digital and/or DTS. You can upgrade the video quality for the GameCube though, with either S-Video or Componenet Video.

3. Joseph Young

Joseph Young Screenwriter

Jason,
    Depends on which Dolby mode you are referring to. If you are looking for Dolby Pro Logic II, make sure your receiver supports that mode (many still do not at this point, although more and more are supporting it).
    Dolby Surround/Pro Logic (1 and 2) - does not require digital audio. This refers to two channel stereo and pro logic, in which the front 3 speakers 'bleed' the sound evenly into the two rears). Pro Logic 2 is so great because it gives you great imaging in your soundfield even if you're just using 'normal' audio cables.