Gamecube cables

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Aaron Copeland, Dec 6, 2002.

  1. Aaron Copeland

    Aaron Copeland Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2000
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Aaron
    I just made this post in the receivers forum:

    "As the subject says, I'm getting an electric hum from my speakers from one of the inputs on my receiver. It happens when I switch to the input that has my Gamecube connected. For those that do not know, the Gamecube does not have any digital output for audio, only the standard red/white stereo cables.

    This also poses another problem since I'm quite limited on cables to use. I just can't go out and buy new cables with lots of shielding since the GC uses a proprietary plug on the end that connects to the system.

    The hum is there whether the GC is on or not, but it goes away when I unplug the cable. This problem does not occur when source component is connected with optical cables (as are all my other components).

    So is this indeed a shielding issue? Is there anyway to get rid of it assuming I can't find anyone that produces GC cables with good shielding.?"

    So now the part specifically for you guys...does Monster or anyone else make some GC cables with good shielding?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Shawn _G

    Shawn _G Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Dave Bennett

    Dave Bennett Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2000
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aaron, sounds like you've got a ground loop problem. Rather then shelling out tons of money on a monster cable, go to Radioshack and buy a Ground Loop Isolator. Then plug the cube audio cables into the GLI and the GLI into your reciever. That should fix the problem. I had a similar problem with my Onkyo 484(and later my 494 after my 484 was stolen) DD/DTS reciever when I connected my powermac to it. As soon as I connected the Ground Loop Isolator to it the problem cleared up.
     

Share This Page