FYI: PE DOTD 500 Watt Plate Amp!

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by JimPeitersen, Dec 17, 2004.

  1. JimPeitersen

    JimPeitersen Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am sure that most of you caught this already, but if you haven't check out Parts Express for their Deal of the Day.
    JP
     
  2. Benihana

    Benihana Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats a MONSTER deal, but way more than what my tempest requires [​IMG]
     
  3. Jason Dalton

    Jason Dalton Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Beni, You are approaching this all wrong. You should be thinking "Wow, what a great deal, I'll have to get another Tempest!"

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Benihana

    Benihana Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol, true, I have been wanting to make a 480L ported dual tempest, but I/m happy with my sealed tempest so far, and i just dumped over $2000 into HT parts this month, and just bought another center channel 2 days ago, so i'm for the most part out of cash now. And if i'm wanting more output later on, i'm just gonna port the tempest
     
  5. Jack Keck

    Jack Keck Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had three people recommend it to me for the Quatro 15 that I ordered on Friday. so I ordered one. Better too much power than not enough.
     
  6. fred garvin

    fred garvin Agent

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i picked this up too, just too good a deal to pass up. i have a shiva driver in a 142.5L box. right now it is being powerred with the 250W partsexpress plate amp, but i will be replacing it with the 500 watt amp when it comes. anyone think thats going to be ridiculous overkill?

    i figured i would get it in case i build another larger project anyway, but was hoping for an increase in sound quality out of the shiva with the increased power as well. what do you think?
     
  7. fred garvin

    fred garvin Agent

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    p.s., i guess i am hoping jack keck is right
     
  8. Benihana

    Benihana Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its always better to have more power than less, and probably the newer amp will have less strain running the shiva and probably a better damping factor, so on paper it should sound a bit better. Its deals like this that keep coming up all the time that make people(me) go broke. [​IMG]
     
  9. cacu

    cacu Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is the 500W of this amp enough to drive a Tumult?
     
  10. Jason Dalton

    Jason Dalton Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    no, you'd just be wasting alot of the excursion that you are paying a premium for with the Tumult.
     
  11. stephanX

    stephanX Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would reccomend the adire 1200 watt amp for the tumult. ada1200 i think, they seem to match each other perfectly[​IMG]
     
  12. Al Garay

    Al Garay Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cacu,

    It depends what you are after. I know TG3 is happy driving his Tumult with a 380watt plate amp. So, even 90-95% of the output is sufficient for some.

    Al
     

Share This Page