Future system, thoughts please

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ryan Solberg, Nov 6, 2002.

1. Ryan Solberg

Ryan Solberg Auditioning

ok, I'm pretty new to HT, been in Car Stereo for about 18months now, learned all i could (and am still learning at a decent pace) and now i'd like to get into HT since i no longer spend much time in my car and spend most of my time in the Dorms here at school. i've pieced together my system and here is what i have...
    Fronts: Adire Audio HE10.1 Kit (same as Kosala's)
    Center: Adire Audio KIT81C or KIT LCC
    Rears: No clue yet due to money constraints, might just make some cheap ones from Audax drivers & tweets & make the crossovers, I'd get all the stuff from Madisound.com This would only be until i get enuf money to make/buy some decent surrounds, Maybe another pair of HE10.1's
    Sub: Adire Audio Tempest Sonotube 9.5cuft 20hz tune(flat to 23hz) with 200-250watt Plate amp.
    Reciever:Sony STRDE685 STRDE885 STRDE985... not really sure which one to go with, or if i'll even go with sony, i'm really up for suggestions on the reciever.here's my needs...
    1.Plenty of options/ connections
    2. under $400....but i can spend a bit more if you think it'd be worth the price increase.
    Should i go with 5.1 or 6.1? 6.1 would only mean it'd take longer to complete... is there much of a difference? seems like the differences between 5.1 & 6.1 would be minimal.
    I'll be running this off my computer for now, until i get both the space & money to fit a TV, so DVD & TV are not needed at this time. So there's my basic setup so far.... Speakers & reciever... What do you guys think about it? especially reciever wise?.... As you can see, i'm on a tight budget, so thats why i'm planing on making the Speakers myself (to save some money yet keep performance)... so when you give your input on my future setup... please keep in mind price.
    -thanks alot for your opinions guys!

2. Alf S

Alf S Cinematographer