What's new

Fujitsu P42VHA30WS (1 Viewer)

alden_huen

Auditioning
Hi Everyone,

I am very new to these types of discussions, but Im looking for some help. I purchased a P42VHA30WS a few days ago. I have noticed that the color on my set just doesnt seem to be as vivid as they were in the store. I find the colors to be quite dull. When I watch TV (using Directv satelite) I find the picture to be not quite that clear and the color to be poor. When I watch DVDs (Harmon Kardon DVD25) I find the picture to be crisp, but the colors seem dull. Im sure that I probably missed some settings somewhere that will make the color come alive. Does anyone have any recommendations for color settings as well as any other settings that might help? Also, does anyone have any recommendations for cabling from my DVD and my Directv to the set? Sorry, I am very new to all this stuff.

Thanks

SimiA

Second Unit
This doesn't seem right. You have a very good set there.
Well, your Direct TV connection can be set up using s-video or composite. Composite is marked "video-out" on your D* Tv box and "video-in" on your set. It should only have one hole called an "RCA" type connection.
"S-video" is a 6 pin connector with a matching connection on your set and Direct TV box.
Only your eyes will tell you which looks better.
Now, you've got to remember, this is an SD signal, and some of the channels will look better than others, and will depend on how much the signal is compressed by Direct Tv.
The picture should still look quite good.
With your DVD player, your connection should be connected through "component" labled (Y Pb Pr). There are matching connections on your DVD player and Tv. They may say Cb Cr; same thing.
The color, contrast, greyscale, and brightness settings of your set can be calibrated using "AVIA."
This disc can be had for short money.
You can try to adjust these settings by eye, but for starters try these and go from there.
Contrast = -4
Brightness = -2
Color = 4
Tint = 4