What's new

Frustrated with pronunciation in Lord of the Rings/Tolkien's work (1 Viewer)

Luc

Stunt Coordinator
Well, I've finished reading lord of the rings and got through the names the best that I could, sounding them out the way it's spelled. But everytime when having a discussion with someone, names come up and they pronounce it differently. First off, I'm not good with pronunciation of names as is, adding on to that Tolkien's pronunciation rules are different (e.g. Celeborn is pronounce as Keleborn, Cirdan is Kirdan). As I understand it from the experts of Tolkien language, even the film made errors in pronunciation.

Now I'm reading Silmarillion and what really preventing me from enjoying the book and finishing it are the names.

I'm looking for a guide to pronounce names. I spent some time looking through the net and all I get are loads of information about Tolkien's language, pronunciation guide that pretty much teach you his language, but I can't find a list of Lord of the Rings/ Silmarillion names and pronunciation of them. I don't want to spend hours learning his language. I just want to be able to get through the books with a close pronunciation of some of the names/places. Can anyone help? I hate to go through reading cirith Ungol and later someone tell me that it's pronounce Kirith Ungol.

I have complete guide to middle earth, atlas of middle earth and none have a names/places pronunciation guide.

Here's some maybe some of you can help off the bat.

Eomer/Eowyn (' on top of the e)
Amon Lhaw
Anduril (' on top of U)
Anorien (' on top of o)
Rohirrim
Manwe (there are two dots on top of the e)
Smeagol (' mark on top of e)
Denethor

I guess I could go on going through the books but I'll top here. Thanks in advance.

Leo Hinze

Stunt Coordinator