Front speaker setup help needed

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Cesar*P, Oct 25, 2003.

1. Cesar*P

Cesar*P Extra

Hey everyone, newbie here that needs some help getting the best sound from the two mains and center channel. First here's my setup:

Receiver: Yamaha HTR-5550
    Mains: JBL S-26
    Center: JBL S-Center
    Sub: Sony SA-WM40

I was wondering how I can make the aforementioned speakers sound more balanced. It seems like the center channel overbears the mains. For example, if a phone is ringing in a movie and the phone is on the left side of the screen it still seems like the center channel is getting most of the sound reproduction done. I would think the main left speaker would reproduce the sound of the phone ring the most. I've set all speakers to Small on the receiver. Please give me any tips on how I can improve the sound reproduction of my speakers so that it can sound more balanced. Thanks.

2. brentl

brentl Cinematographer

I'm not sure why you're saying the speakers aren't balanced.

Are the left and right speakers set equal distance from the main sitting area?

Is the center speaker about the same height as the main left and right pair??

Are you sure everything is set to small? are the levels matched(with a meter)?

B

3. Tim K

Tim K Second Unit