Front Projector Questions re. HD-DVD and Future Price Drops.

Discussion in 'Displays' started by ian_ag, Feb 15, 2005.

1. ian_ag

ian_ag Auditioning

I have started the process of researching the purchase of a front projector and have a few questions.

1 - How does/should the impending introduction of HD-DVD/Blu-Ray affect a projector purchase? In other words, is there a certain minimum resolution that should be adhered to? Will a native resolution of 854x480 (BenQ PE5120 for $1000) be considerably worse than 1024x576 (InFocus ScreenPlay 5700 for $2500) when it comes to HD?

2 - Do current pricing trends suggest that I would be better off waiting 6mos to buy a projector? In other words, will a projector that costs $2500 no only cost $1000 in July?

Any other advice or input is most welcome.

Thanks!
    Ian

2. MikeHerbst

MikeHerbst Stunt Coordinator

I'm no expert, but my take:

1) Neither of the projectors you mentioned are true-HD capable. They will have to downconvert an HD signal to fit the available resolution. For a true HD projector, you'd want at least 720 lines of vertical resolution (so you can display 720p without scaling, get it?). If you'll be watching a lot of HD content, or are interested in making sure you'll get full benefit from any HD/Blu-Ray DVDs in the future, you'll need a higher resolution than the projectors you just listed.

2) Yes, pricing trends suggest that waiting will get you more for your money. Digital Projectors are just like any other silicon technology, they're roughly following Moore's Law, so things are getting cheaper fast. When to pull the trigger is up to you, but it'll always be cheaper if you wait...

Now, 6 months won't cut a $2500 projector down to $1000, but it might cut it down to $1700 when the NEW model comes out at the $2500 price-point. And so on, over time.

3. Evan M.

Evan M. Supporting Actor