Front Projector or Rear Projector

Discussion in 'Displays' started by NghiaTran, Apr 18, 2004.

1. NghiaTran

NghiaTran Agent

hello again fellas. Ive been shopping around for a new tv for the last 2 months and cannot come to a decision. Choices choices! There are so many to choose from that Im going zonkers and just want to pull all my hair out! To top it all off, my wife and I went to a Home Show today and there was a home theater vendor that was showcasing a 92 inch front projector system. ANd you know what happened? She made my life that much harder and told me thats what she wants. Arghhhhhh!!!

So, now the WAF is at full force. I have always been curious and considered front projectors but I didnt think she would ever go for it. So thats why Im turning to you guys for help again.

First of all my budget is about 5 grand for a new tv. I have pretty much ruled LCD and DLP out(except the Loewe DLP, its amazing). So the runners up is front projector or rear projector.

The one concern that I have with fptv is that the picture might not be as clear as rptvs. Is this true? Could I get a good fptv and a screen with my budget? WOuld the picture even compete with, lets say, a Mitsubishi Diamond or Toshiba HX93?

What are the downsides if any with fptvs? This is my first forray into this technology and I am ridiculously clueless. There is a huge "wow" factor with them but how do they compare with raw performance? Picture quality? THe room that its going into will be a light controlled environment.

I do appreciate your time and any comments and/or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

2. ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles Producer

Most important thing: what is your room like? You need a fairly dedicated, and light controlled (dark) room for front-projection.