What's new

from nothing to something (1 Viewer)

manuelMA

Auditioning
Hello everyone,
First I feel that I must compliment all of you for running such a great forum. This is easily the best forum i've ever seen online, polite, intelligent, knowledgable and willing to help people from virtually all levels. ::sigh:: i only wish there were dedicated gaming forums like this one.

Anyway, I'm a 24 year old graduate student who finally has his very own, modest 1bedroom/efficiency studioesque apartment. There is a separate "bedroom" (no doors) but the general living area is 13.5' x 17' from the end of the kitchen counter to the wall that divides living room from bedroom. All i've got right now is a cheap 19" and an xbox 360 that doubles as my DVD player, and I'm looking to get a surround sound system for the TV viewing area (7' couch with back sitting about 8' from edge of TV stand)
My viewing ration is about 50/35/15 Video Games/Movies/Music (usually concert DVDs) with no conventional cable ::sigh:: no football. Since my living room area is so small and particularly the TV viewing area, i was curious what you guys would recommend.
I can't play stuff too loud because my neighbors and landlord are generally quiet (although i can hear their TVs just fine), overall i don't want to be rude, plus i don't really like things too loud. What i'm really after is something that will give me good ambient, surround sound. Video games, specially first person shooters get you so immersed as stand-alone entertainment that it must be an even more satisfying experience with decent surround. And movies like saving private ryan, or even Crouching Tiger (the forest scences) must also be incredible.

I did want to ask about HTIB, i know the almost official policy here is to not recommend these, and i was wondering if that also applied to such a small viewing area as mine.