Frequency & Volume Settings

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by GaryO, Jan 28, 2002.

1. GaryO

GaryO Auditioning

I am new at this. Not sure where to switch the phase switch on my sub to (0 or 180. Also the frequency 80 to 160. Where should the frequency be set at and volume. Whats the difference between volume and frequency. Thanks for your help. PS: I have a pro logic system.

2. MichaelGomez

MichaelGomez Stunt Coordinator

The best thing do do is get a test DVD. I use AVIA but I hear Video Essentials is good too. Any way there is a test track for checking the phase on your sub. Basically the fronts play along with an LFE track. Then you change the phase. If the bass is more distinguishable then it is out of phase. Anotherwords the bass should blend in not detract from the front sound.

As for the Frequency knob. That is usually a low pass crossover. The lower you set it the less higher frequency sounds that it reproduces (your sub that is). This is generally good if you have good tower speakers. That way less power is spent on reproducing sounds in your sub that are also reproduced in your towers. The big problem is if you are using front speakers that don't have drivers capable of reproducing lower frequencies. If you have these and set your sub cuttoff too low, then there will be a gap in the sound info. So you might hear the explosion as everyone is screeming but you might not hear the semi-truck comming around the corner.

To wrap up, get a test DVD if you don't have one and find out the crossover frequencies of your fronts. Then set the sub. I am using 80 in my home but I use 50 in my car.

Hope this helps.

Mike

3. Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper Producer

4. Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper Producer

Gary has emailed me privately, but I thought it might be better to post the info here, to allow others to reply and to offer the info to anyone else having similar problems.
    [QUOTE=

5. GaryO

GaryO Auditioning