Free 2 room install from DirectTV; upgrade to HDTV

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tom McLaughlin, Mar 3, 2003.

  1. Tom McLaughlin

    Tom McLaughlin Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    All,
    I've had my 46" Mistu HDTV ready TV for about 1.5 years now. I use it mostly for movies, but pump regular cable into it. It is time to upgrade to HDTV. Questions:

    1) I'd like to use the DirectTV promotion for a free 2 room install, but upgrade this to the needed dish and set top box needed for HDTV. Has anyone done this before through DirectTV or should I just buy the stuff and intstall it myself?

    2) Are there any HDTV set top boxes with built in hard drives to use for recording, time shift, etc?

    3) I've never had satelite before. How many cables do I need to run to the set top box where I will receive HDTV in order to get regular programming, HDTV, and have picture in picture? Do I use the 3 LNB dish or dual LNB?

    Sorry for the newbie questions...need help.

    Tom
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    1. If you are handy with tools and want it done right, then do it yourself. If not, get the Blockbuster deal. When signing up tell them you want the Para Todos package. That will get you the multi-sat (3 LNB) dish. When ordering programming, you don't actually have to purchase Spanish language channels.

    2. Not yet. It looks like Dishnetwork will have the 921 receiver out soon. If it's like Dish's other PVRs it will be pretty buggy at first. DirecTV has announced the HD DirecTivo and it may be available around the end of the year.

    3. You run one coax per tuner. I have a dual tuner DirecTivo and a HD receiver so I have three coax cables from my dish to my receivers. As soon as I move my antenna to the attic I'll have to run another coax for it. For PIP with satellite you will need two receivers.

    -Robert
     
  3. Tom McLaughlin

    Tom McLaughlin Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Robert. Is there a box that will allow me to receiver HDTV, regular satellite, over the air HDTV and allow me to have PIP (two tuners).

    Seems not right that I have to give up PIP on my $2500 TV. I can sacrifice not having the Tivo like experience for now.

    Can you suggest a box that will do what I want?

    How hard is it to get the signal from both satellites? We bring a satellite to our tailgates for the football games and it is a bit of a pain to get the signal from one sat more or less two...

    Thanks again.
     
  4. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
     
  5. Steve Phillips

    Steve Phillips Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does your cable system offer HD service yet? If so, check out this option. I get 9 HD channels and the quality is fantastic. I don't think Direct TV even offers the major networks in HD, do they?
     
  6. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
     
  7. Brian Gi

    Brian Gi Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    A point of clarification, when you ask for the Para Todos package ALSO specify that you want NASA channel and BYUTV. (Bringham Young Univ)

    The Paratodos may only get you a 2 LNB dish, depending on what the HSP has in stock. If you specify those two channels they will send a triple LNB dish.
     
  8. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
     
  9. Tom McLaughlin

    Tom McLaughlin Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've checked with Charter a few times and still don't think they offer HD. I'm tired of paying $48 a month to these saps for basic cable.

    I saw a commercial on ESPN this morning that they are going to offer HDESPN...anyone else heard this. Is it going to be on DirectTV?????????????????/
     
  10. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    ESPN HD announced this on Sept 25, 2002 that the channel will start broadcasting in April. Neither DirecTV nor Dish have announced they will be carrying this channel. There are more rumors that Dish will be carrying this but it is DirecTV's policy not to announce any new programming until the deal has been finalized.

    AVS has a really good summary of all the HD offerings out there. *

    -Robert
     

Share This Page