FP Help Needed! (X1 or Panny 200u/300u especially, but all comments welcome)

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Carlo Medina, Sep 25, 2003.

1. Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina Executive Producer

Okay I'm interested in getting a Front Projector for my apartment. But I have two problems stemming from the fact that it's an apartment that I'll be in for only 2-3 years and has strict rules on what you can/can't do to the walls/ceiling:

1. Since I can't mount a screen, so I'll be shooting onto a slightly off-white, but pretty smooth, wall.

2. I also can't ceiling mount a projector, so it will have to sit at the back of the living room, on a mantle on top of the fireplace (which is never used so no, I'm not going to burn my projector).

I have never owned an FP so I'm a newbie with some basic questions. How big will the screen size be if the mantle to wall distance is approx. 14 feet? How controllable/adjustable is the size with either the X1, Panny 200u or Panny 300u? Will I achieve reasonably good looking results (I currently own a Panny 47" HDTV)?

I know a wall isn't ideal, but really that's my only option right now until I can buy a condo. Anyone have luck with these projectors only on a wall? Any advice you'd give me?

Thanks in advance for all of your help!

2. Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph Lead Actor

Neil Joseph
    I would opt for the Panny L300U and zoom it in for about a 100" image. Does anyone have the L300U throw chart?

3. Carlo Medina

Ah - throw charts: something I have no experience and knowledge of, but I think from the name I can figure out how that would be of help to me.

I'll start doing google and manufacturer web site searches for throw charts for the X1, 200u and 300u. If someone could post it here that would be very appreciated.

4. ChadLB

ChadLB Screenwriter

5. Carlo Medina