What's new

Four legal questions (1 Viewer)

Karl_O

Stunt Coordinator
These are legal questions, so no political (especially historical) discussions please. I ask these questions because I wish to expand my knowlege about English and American law.

a) I understand that "trial by jury" originated in England and is of Anglo-Saxon origin. It is the form of trial system we are familiar with today. Why is there a great regard for "trial by jury"?

b) What makes the Magna Carta significant in the development of English and American law?

c) What is "common" law? Is it simply law created by custom? What makes it different from codified law?

d) Why is there a fear over a "standing" army among the English and eventually among Americans? Anyway, what is a "standing" army?

Mike Voigt

Supporting Actor
Karl,
first off, I am not a lawyer. So perhaps I should not answer, but I will anyway :D So here's my read on these.
a. Trial by jury means a trial by your peers, as opposed to a conviction by a judge or judges solely. It essentially means a decision by people not affiliated with either the accused, the accuser, or the judicial system, thus reasonably impartial.
b. The Magna Charta was one of the first if not the first codification of legal requirements in England. It defined the legal requirements of the King's subjects to the King, and vice versa. This codification, IIRC, started with the nobles. It eventually formed the basis of the codices, etc. nowadays. Since American law is based on English law, and this occurred long before the US was settled by the Brits, it carried over.