What's new

For $300, Energy Take 5 or better? (1 Viewer)

Scott L

Senior HTF Member
$300 is my proposed budget since I'm a poor college student. The center chan on my kenwood htb-503 seems to have lost its magnetic shielding somehow and causes my screen to turn green after a while. I figured I'd just get a new spkr system since the htb's simply suck, except for the sub which I plan on keeping.
I've heard great reviews about the Take 5 and you can find it for $300 now. Maybe I should even hold out for the 5.2 which is $379. Is there anything better for the money?
Thanks.

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam
If you can score a used system you can do better, but not much. Keep your eyes open for paradigm and definitive technology on ebay, but I still doubt you will find anything at that price. You are talking about 5 speakers right? The Take 5's are a safe bet for good quality sound from small speaks.

Scott L

Senior HTF Member
Hmmm, I've been looking into getting just a 3pc speaker set to save money. I can get a pair of Axiom M2's and a VP50 center for $315 not including s/h.
www.axiomaudio.com

Kelley_B

Senior HTF Member
Doesn't eCost have the JBL NSP1 package for like $250? Those are some kick ass speakers as a buddy of mine has them.

Len Cheong

Second Unit
I personally had both the Take 5.2s and the JBL N series in my home and compared the 2. The 5.2 had the 8 sub paired with it and the JBL with the old d110. Both were great but I went with the JBLs because of the following - better midrange and price. The Take 5.2s with the sub cost $575 and the JBL system cost $460. I may return the JBL sub since it's garnered very bad reliability reviews. The JBL system also seemed more "neutral" to my ears. This is with movies. However, listening to music, the Take 5.2s seem to sound better. I was not buying for music, though. Hope this helps.

Jon_R

Stunt Coordinator