Followon: Why does my Onkyo 696 click all the time????

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Wayne Boxall, Oct 15, 2001.

  1. Wayne Boxall

    Wayne Boxall Extra

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I posted a message comparing my PS2 with my Pioneer 535: http://www.hometheaterforum.com/uub/...ML/045051.html
    What I noticed even more noticeably last night was that with my Pioneer 535 connected via Digital Coax whenever the layer change occurs the Onkyo clicks as it trys to sort out the audio settings....
    It is even worse with some of the extras, as the extras switch between DD and DPLII/Stereo etc. Click Click Click. Sometimes my receiver even displays PCM briefly!
    I thought it was the receiver at fault, but then I noticed with the PS2, it changes audio settings without a click in sight!!!!
    The only difference in connection is that the PS2 is using optical and the Pioneer is using Coax.
    Any ideas at all? Is the Pioneer faulty? Will optical fix it?
    Not a show stopper but VERY annoying.
     
  2. AllenD

    AllenD Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it's normal. My 787 does the same thing going from a dvd menu with audio in PL to play mode reading a 5.1 track. This if from an HTPC and stand alone dvdp using coax. My HD STB uses optical and when I change channels with HD and 5.1 to up-convert non-HD channel with PL, the 787 also clicks when switching audio processors. I don't think theres anything to worry about.
    My previous receiver, a Kenwood VR-209, did the same thing only it would drop the first second of audio since it was so slow recognizing the audio stream and switching to the right mode.
     
  3. Wayne Boxall

    Wayne Boxall Extra

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Funny how when I use the PS2 for DVDs there is no clicking.....
    Weird.
     

Share This Page