Focusing with the lens housing

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Matthew Will, Nov 27, 2002.

1. Matthew Will

Matthew Will Stunt Coordinator

Dear forum,
    Just today I received my first projector that actually turns on!!! I had bought one in the past but they packaged it terribly so I had to get my insurance money for that one. Well now I finally got one that "works". Of course it was used and came off of eBay. Here is the link to the auction. http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...801728301&rd=1 As you can see the projector can produce a good image. My problem is that since this is my first projector ever, I do not know how to adjust the lens housing so it produces the sharp image I want. To describe whats wrong with it this is how I would put it. If there was a white line being projected on a black background, there would be an obvious bright line where the line is supposed to be, but there is also a white shadow of the line. If the line were orange there would be an orange shadow. This blurry shadow happens with everything projected, so I havent gotten a solid clear image although I can definently make out what is on the screen. What should I do? I can manually turn the lens so the image gets larger and smaller and I can pull it in and out about 1/2 inch to focus just the very slighted. Is there something else I can to correct the problem? In the ebay ad they say that I just need to set it once and the problem is fine. What am I not doing? Let me know. Thanks. Matt

2. Matthew Will

Matthew Will Stunt Coordinator

Oh yea...I forgot to mention that when I place my hand in front of the projector, the parts of the image closest to the shadows of my fingers produces a nice sharp image. I assume this is due to the bending of light around my fingers. Does this help any diagnos what to do?