Fluance speaker choice

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by SusanS, Aug 1, 2003.

1. SusanS

SusanS Auditioning

After going to the major electronics stores & researching speakers online until I'm about blue in the face, I'm considering the Fluance. I'm no audio expert but do want great sound without alot of cost. As someone who has had Fisher speakers for over 15 years (floor & bookshelf), would I be going up a notch or down?

And of these two Fluance floor models, any feedback as to which would be the better buy (only $30 difference):

SV-10
    Tweeter: 1" Neodynium balanced silk dome ferrofluid cooled
    Midrange: Dual 5" polymer treated with butyl rubber surrounds in separate enclosure
    Subwoofer: Side-firing 8" polymer treated high excursion with butyl rubber surround
    Power handling: 50-200 watts
    Frequency Response: 42-20k Hz
    Sensitivity: 87+-3dB
    Crossover: 800/3500 Hz phase coherent

SM-938
    Tweeter: 1" titanium balance silk dome ferrofluid cooled
    Midrange: Dual 4" polypropylene, butyl rubber surrounds, separate enclosure
    Subwoofer: Side-firing 10" poly-treated high excursion, butyl rubber surround 30 oz. magnet, 35mm voice coil
    Power handling: 20-200 watts
    Frequency response: 38-20k Hz
    Sensitivity: 89+-3dB
    Crossover: 900/3500 Hz phase coherent

I don't plan on getting a separate subwoofer; would the 938 with the 10" woofer be a better choice in that regard? I would also be getting the center & bipolar speakers.

Thanks for your help!

Susan

2. CurtisSC

CurtisSC Screenwriter

Susan,

I don't think it would be a notch down.

What kind of music do you listen to? What kind of equipment will you be using with the speakers?

3. JeremyFr

JeremyFr Supporting Actor

I think before you whole heartedly decide on fluance you should check out the White Van Speaker thread here on the forum you may have some different views on Fluance after reading it.

4. Jim Williams

Jim Williams Second Unit