Flight of the Phoenix

Discussion in 'DVD' started by Matthew Cook, Mar 1, 2005.

1. Matthew Cook

Matthew Cook Stunt Coordinator

Anybody haveing any weird problems with the sound? It really sounds weird kinda loud background and lower vocal. I am not watching it on any surround system just TV.

2. Ryan Tsang

Ryan Tsang Second Unit

No. Actually, this soundtrack is the most impressive I've heard since Master and Commander. And I'm not easy to please. I don't buy every blockbuster title because there are bullets, explosions, and deep bass.

I fired it up in DTS and added THX Ultra2 processing. Right from the get go, I knew this soundtrack was going to be nice. When Quaid got off the plane and was conversing with Otto, there was a metallic ticking sound in the L channel (where the jet engine could be). I think it is reminiscent of a car engine just turned off and the components are cooling and shrinking. I'm not a mechanic so don't quote me on that. Nice details. I admire this ST not because it can be loud or loaded with bass (cuz every DVD is these days), but because the surround effects are so realistic. Again, I don't know if it Ultra2 or not, but I have never been so immersed in storms, howling wind effects, fly-overs, and thunder. I'm extremely annoyed by surround material calling attention to itself (I run bipole sides for that reason). "Saw" is such an example; the rear center is poorly mixed and way too hot. In FOTP, I could not detect where the mains blend into the sides, and where the sides blend into the rear centers. And bass? WOW! During the crash scene, there was a moment of infrasonic bass that reminds me of "The Haunting" (DTS) during its cold-breath scene. My single Servo-15 is eq'ed flat and I don't run it hot. It is not capable of below 18hz and even 18hz is not very strong in my room. You SVS guys are gonna have a field day with this one! The crash also sounds better than the one in Cast Away.