Flexy rack with 3/4" rod. What size to drill the holes?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by MichaelDDD, Oct 28, 2003.

1. MichaelDDD

MichaelDDD Supporting Actor

Mike
    I want to build a flexy rack. I've never done one before, and I want to make SURE it doesn't weeble, wobble or fall down. I'm going straight for 3/4" rod. *grunt noises*

It's going to be a five or six-shelf unit...four-five feet high.

What size holes do I drill in the shelves? One-inch? 3/4" would be too tight a fit, no?

Thanks. [​IMG]

2. Bob Kavanaugh

Bob Kavanaugh Second Unit

You want a tight fit. Drill the holes the same size as your allthread, it'll go through nicely.

You're really going gung-ho with the HT hobby! You've got different questions everywhere! You've been bitten by the HT bug pretty hard, I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

Best of luck with the flexy. I have a thread around here somewhere where I made a half hearted attempt to collect url's to different flexy projects.

Here it is

3. MichaelDDD

Mike
    Thanks Bob. [​IMG]

Yeah...I've been a posting maniac lately. This place is GREAT. Smart people, lots of experience. Straight up answers...a veritable gold mine of HT info.

Actually, I've been into HT for years now..."way back" to the beginings of the Dolby Pro Logic on VHS tapes days.

My first two HT subwoofers were built with leftover car audio subs and amps powered by a 12-volt bench test power supply.

I had a modest system I put together with my modest funds...my tastes have matured though; I want more and I want it cleaner and crisper. Hearing high-end equipment in the stores also is a painful reminder that you have cheap stuff. :b

A windfall of sorts...call it "built in overtime" of late has allowed me to splurge. You can't take it with you, so might as well enjoy it, right?

But things like racks? Psh! I am not spending $400 on something I can build better for like $40!! *stomps foot*