What's new

Flexy Rack Cosmetic Questions. (1 Viewer)

Shawn McBride

Stunt Coordinator
Hi guys,
I want to try my hand at building a flexy-rack to go in my office/play room at home to house my old TV, a couple of video games and my CED player. I believe I have all the tools I'll need but I really don't know the first thing about woodworking or construction. (I'm a computer nerd.)
rolleyes.gif

Everyone talks about painting the MDF boards but how about wood stain? I'd like to match the rack as closely as I can to the desk I already have in the room. Does MDF take stain well? If I'm not mistaken MDF has got a wood chip, particle-board kind of texture? Is there an inexpensive wood material that I should look at other than MDF for staining?
Also, is it possible to paint the threaded rods and hardware? Do I need some kind of special paint? I want to give them a matte black finish.
I know these questions sound REALLY basic but I've got zero experience here so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Shawn

Chad Anson

Second Unit
Second question first, yes it is possible to paint the allthread and nuts. First, you want to clean the allthread using a rag soaked with mineral spirits. Next, use a high quality spray paint. The key is to use several light coats rather than one heavy one - follow the directions on the spray paint can for how long to let dry between coats. When spinning the nuts onto the painted allthread you may scrape a little bit of the paint off. Because I didn't want to buy a small can of matching paint, I sprayed some of the spraypaint into the cap and used a small brush to touch up the blemishes.