Flashed my Bios and...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brett DiMichele, Feb 27, 2002.

  1. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went to Intel's site and found that the newest bios version
    for my MoBo was P03 and I had P01 so I decided I might as
    well update it... So I downloaded the program which starts
    an install sheild instance and then it reboots your PC..
    They say "Do not power the PC down for 3 minutes or you
    could corrupt the transfer and you will have to send the PC
    back to your manufacturer"
    I am thinking to myself "well duh" who would do such a thing!
    So I start the install process and it turns the PC off and
    reboots into the Bios screen and it never moves.. So I sit
    and I wait.. 3 minutes pass... 5 minutes pass... 10 minutes pass... I enter the bios setup and everything looks
    kosher and it's showing PO3 rather than P01 so I figure
    what the hell "save and exit" then reboot... When XP loads
    an Intel window pops ups "Bios updated successfully" WHEW!
    Why don't they tell you the damn thing is gonna stay in the
    bios setup screen rather than reboot to Win after completion! Grrrr [​IMG]
     
  2. Rob Varto

    Rob Varto Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Come on, isn't it obvious?? [​IMG]
    I wish manufacturers would quit expecting the consumer to read their minds.
     
  3. Jeff R.

    Jeff R. Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 31, 1999
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My personall policy about BIOS upgrades is, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. There have been times where I have had to do upgrades to fix certain bugs or to ensure compatibility but I'm not going to do an upgrade just because an upgrade is available.
     
  4. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeff,
    I also agree and I am NOT doing it again [​IMG]
    If it was a simple matter of removing my Bios and replacing
    or sending out to have it reflashed if I FUBAR it, that would
    not be so bad.. But the fact that it's a permanantly mounted
    Bios Chip makes it a royal PITA if I FUBAR it [​IMG]
     
  5. James St

    James St Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 1999
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've flashed the BIOS on my Asus and Gigabyte(previous) mobo. I really liked the Asus utility that allows you to flash BIOS through Windows. It makes the whole process much easier to go through.
     
  6. Dalton

    Dalton Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Real Name:
    Dalton
    My Epox and Iwill motherboards have a handy way to flash the BIOS. Just put the awd.exe and the BIOS Bin file on a floppy and press ALT+F2 during bootup when the option appears at the bottom of the screen. Once you press ALT+F2 the Flash runs automatically. Pretty easy.
     
  7. Christopher Chung

    Christopher Chung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Um, excuse the absolute ignorance, but what exactly does, or is the BIOS?:b

    The reason I ask is because I'm in the process of building my computer, and this word keeps popping up.

    Thanks

    CHris
     
  8. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Bios is a Flash ROM Chipset that is either Permanantly
    Soldered or Socketed (removeable) onto the Mother Board.
    The Bios stores the basic and extended boot and device
    configurations.
    No Bios = No Compuer [​IMG]
     
  9. Christopher Chung

    Christopher Chung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Brett,

    So I guess a novice like me shouldn't worry/mess around with it then huh? Alright!

    Chris
     
  10. Jeff Engel

    Jeff Engel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Christopher, if you're gonna be building a computer soon, you should start gathering info on the BIOS and how to tweak it. When you build a computer you are gonna have to manipulate the bios is some instances depending on how it is preconfigured and what you are gonna add to the computer. It's no big deal and the Motherboard documentation should walk you throught it but it's best to have some info before you start. I had to modify my bios when I added my second hard drive. No big deal but kind of intimidating if you don't know what is what when you get into the bios. I too have an Asus board and was extremely relieved that they put a flash program on the cd to make it easy. 2 [​IMG] [​IMG] for the little gem of a program.
    Jeff
     
  11. Christopher Chung

    Christopher Chung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Jeff,

    I'll look into it more. I too am getting an Asus board, so that should be a good start "flashing the BIOS"? haha, anyways, I'll be asking my friend about it too.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page