What's new

First time Plasma buyer here...need info on setup concerns / calibration (1 Viewer)

FuzzyReets

Auditioning
Real Name
Brant
Hi folks. So I just ordered the Samsung 58" PN58B550 which I should get sometime next week. I wanted to do some further research on the setup and such before I get it. I have done a little reading and have a couple concerns being that this is my first plasma TV.

I've been reading that you have to "baby" it for the first 200-300 hours by lowering contrast levels and such. I'm not sure what the parameters for this are but I'd like to know to make sure I take care of it correctly right out of the box.

Secondly I'm reading that this TV has a lot of calibration options and that these need to be setup correctly. I'm a novice to most of this stuff especially calibration which I have never done. I read the calibration information from here (http://reviews.plasmatvbuyingguide.c...libration.html) but I cant' imagine that one group of settings will just be best for everyone or am I wrong?

Need help with this stuff. Much appreciated!

SethH

Senior HTF Member
For the first 100-300 hours you should keep your brightness and contrast below 50%. Some new plasma owners use a slideshow of different colored slides to break-in their plasmas. It is something you should read up on . . . I don't have a strong opinion on the break-in vs "no need to break-in" debate.

Once you have done your initial 100-300 hours is when you should calibrate. There are several sites where people post their post-calibration settings. Using these is a good place to start . . . then you can use a good calibration disc to dial it in a little tighter for your specific set . . .because all sets will be slightly different.

FuzzyReets

Auditioning
Real Name
Brant
Hi Seth,

Thanks for the reply. Do you know where I can find more info about these slides you mention? Also, what sites post the calibration information? Thanks again for your information.

Michael TLV