What's new

First Time HT Buying Questions (Newbie) (1 Viewer)

BobCorbett

Auditioning
Hello Everyone
I am new to HT as a hobby but I have been reading HTF for a few months now. This will the first time I have purchased any HT equipment so I wanted to ask a few questions first.
Let me give a little background. My room I want to build in is 17X12. The system I am considering is a Onkyo ds696 with Home Theater Direct Level III center, mains and surrounds. I have decided to save up for a SVS 25-31pc for my sub.
My questions are as follows:
1) Is the Onkyo 696 a good choice of receiver?
2) Will the HTD Level III's go well with my receiver, if not which should I change?
3) What DVD player around $300 will go well with this setup?
4) What cables should I use to connect it all ?(recommend a brand name)
Thanks
Bob

BryanZ

Screenwriter
Bob,
Welcome! You may want to get in touch with Due N or Ryan Schnacke as they live in the Dallas area and have some of the equipment I'm about to mention.
1. Yes. I have the 595 and it is a wonderful unit. The 696 should be better and offers a few more things that the 595 doesn't.
2. Unfamiliar with the HTD IIIs. Jeffery Former seems to enjoy them. I have nOrh 4.0s and they are wonderful speakers. Ryan and Due N also have them. You can get the package for $850.
3. Generally Panasonic and Toshiba are your best bets in this price range. If you do not have a progressive scan tv, then go with the RV-61 or 31. Sony also should be good. Might be able to find a good used one here too.
4. Radio Shack or Home Depot. Pretty much anything that is 10 or 12 guage will be fine. Definately get plenty of banana plugs.
Also, you may want to swap out the 25-31 for the 20-39 as it goes lower but is a tad less powerful.
[Edited last by BryanZ on July 16, 2001 at 09:46 AM]

Ryan Schnacke

Supporting Actor
Bob,