What's new

First Post and newbie needs advice.......oh no, here we go again.... (1 Viewer)

Gary Halm

Auditioning
ok, yes, i know, it’s probably been beaten to death by now but i’m a newbie looking for my first true ht system and i would appreciate some helpful advice from people who really know about this topic--you guys & gals.
i found this site about 6 days ago and this has suddenly become a compulsion for me. i find myself logging onto this site every chance i get and reading as much as i can. only a week ago i was ready to plop down $500 for the onkyo htib but after reading some of the advice on this site i have decided to up the amount i am willing to spend to $1,000 for speakers and a receiver. i realize that this is not a great deal of money but i would like to spend it wisely.
the dilemma is making a choice from a seemingly endless array of products-many of them i have read about on this forum but not actually heard. with that comes my first problem, i’m starting to get to the point where i have too much information and i haven’t even been to a store to listen since i changed my mind about the onkyo system.
i was hoping that i could narrow the list down to 3 speaker systems(including sub) and 3 receivers so that i could then explore them in some detail before making my decision.
here is where i am at on speakers right now:
i have read some good things on the JBL NS24 ‘s, as well as the Fluance AV-HTB(i don’t like their non-return policy) and the HTD Level TWO 5.1.
i wonder about whether the front speakers should be larger than the rears or should they be the same size? i haven’t seen a discussion on this topic as of yet.
on receivers i am really open at this point. i am just now beginning to understand that 100 watts here doesn’t equal 45 watts there, that it’s about quality and other issues.