What's new

First Post, and Need 5.1 Surround Help (1 Viewer)

I am 15 so I have a limited amount of money I can spend. I am probably only able to afford a complete set and have been looking at some kenwoods and onkyo but would appreciate some advice. My top price is probably going to be 450 or so. Also, would it be bad to have the front speakers elevated higher than the rest? and is wallmounting the back 2 alright? I am not very good with these things and will probably need to be walked through it. I am using it for xbox, music, and tv and dont need it to be at the exact places to produce the "best" sound capable from the speakers. Thanks alot for the help in advance.

Matthew Anderson

Second Unit
Real Name
Matthew Anderson
David,
I not sure if you are after a complete speaker set or HT set. It you are looking for an all in one HT system, Crutchfield's catalog has some decent all in one systems from Panasonic and Pioneer. It would be better to have your surrounds higher than your main speakes and if you can afford it stands would probably give you better sound than wall-mounted speakers.

Frank Carter

Screenwriter
Here's what I would go with if I had that amount to deal with.
Two pairs of HTD Level One Mains
$39/pr X 2=$78
HTD Level One Center
$29
DLS-10
$99.95
Panasonic SA-HE70K
$144.95
This brings you around $350, which leaves enough to cover shipping and wires. I would much rather have this setup rather than an all in one HTIB. I think this is about the best that can be done for the price, it'll be better than any HTIB you might have been looking at.