What's new

First gen Apple Watch question (1 Viewer)

Nelson Au

Senior HTF Member
Hey guys,

I’ve been wearing a first generation Apple Watch since late 2015. I also wear a real Swiss Watch, but’s because I’m nuts. I like looking at my mechanical watch. It tells time very well.

What I’m really liking about the Apple Watch is the monitoring of my activity. When I go for my workout bike rides, I always use it track my rides. I’m really liking that it’s tracking my heat rate, distance and caloric burning. The most recent iOS updates now have the mileage readings even closer to the on-board cyclometer I have on the bike. I’d trust the on-board cyclometer as a more accurate reading of my distance. But it’s good to see the watch is doing that too.

I’m also really liking to use it to track walking and distance covered when I walk.

So with that said, I’ve been using the watch a lot to monitor my activity lately. But I get messages on screen that tell me things like, I did great last week, try to beat it this week or this month. I usually get these messages when I’m driving and I can’t see it as I’m concentrating on driving. I cannot see a way to access these messages later. Either on the watch or on the iPhone. Are these just momentary messages that are lost and no longer retrievable?

I’m pretty happy with the watch. I do notice that it takes a few seconds for apps to open or get started. I imagine if I upgraded, the new watches are much snappier. I tend to keep watches a long time. I might wait a bit longer as the battery life so far still manages to make it a full day. A new watch would be nice as it’s water resistant. :)

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
I have my Wife’s Series 0 watch; she’s upgraded to the new Series 3. Battery life and performance is much improved on the new watch.

I don’t know how to see past notifications. But the “awards” can be seen in the iPhone Activity app.

Nelson Au

Senior HTF Member