First DIY subwoofer

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jim White, Jan 10, 2002.

1. Jim White

Jim White Auditioning

[​IMG] Hello, I'm new to the forum, but have been checking out all the post on DIY subs. The more I read the more confused I get. I have decided to build my own, but just what I'm not sure. I'm hoping for some opinions on what to try.
    The facts: I should be able to handle the construction of the sub, I'm an ok woodworker. The electrical side will be more of a problem for me. I'm intrigued by the SVS & sono-sub idea, but I'm not sure I can get used to the big round size of the thing. The room size is around 213 sq ft, with a fair amount of glass, carpeted and 8 ft ceilings. I would like to have some impressive sound for HT, but also plan on using the system for music as well. I would also like to make use of an old Carver amp that I have to power the sub, it's rated at 250/channel and can also be bridged. Total budget $300-$500. Any thougts on what would be the most bang for the buck would be appreciated. Thanks, Jim White.

2. Greg_R

Greg_R Screenwriter

Greg
    At the top of this forum you'll find a "SonoSub Projects" link that should give you a lot of ideas. A lot of people have used the Adire Tempest ($150) and Shiva ($125) drivers successfully in sonotube designs. A dual Tempest design driven by the Carver should give you more than enough bass...

3. Pete Mazz

Pete Mazz Supporting Actor

Any idea how large of an enclosure you can live with? A lot will depend on that. Two Tempests will give you incredible output, but require a larger enclosure.

Pete

4. Jim White

Jim White Auditioning