first DIY question

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by kyle-sm, Dec 7, 2003.

1. kyle-sm

kyle-sm Agent

I want to build 2 bookshelf speakers just for fun, and to gain a little experience in doing it. I've already done a bit of wood working to make myself shelves, furniture, boxes........ and have access to a huge shop. What is the best I can do for about $100 in hardware/wood/baffles.

Also an unrelated question. Why does everyone use mdf? Why not use a real wood such as walnut or cherry? And also if you did use a real wood would there be any reason not to use dove tail joints?? These joints are stronger than screws so could this possibly be an advantage??

Kyle

2. perry web

perry web Stunt Coordinator

I am very new to DIY speakers but I do a lot of woodworking so I might be able to answer your MDF question. MDF is very stable (does not expand as much w/ temp and humidity changes) and the thickness is constant so it is easy to work with but the main reason, I believe, is that MDF is very dense or "dead". You do not get reverberations in the wood. I have read where people have used a nice beech plywood but it would be cheaper to make your box out MDF then veneer the box. IF you wanted rounded corners you can use 1/4 oak or maple plywood and cut it small and fit in 1/4 round molding in the corners. this would a nice finished look.

3. Hank Frankenberg

Hank Frankenberg Cinematographer

Yes, it's because of MDF's density/lower resonance that it's better acoustically for full-range speakers. It's a nice serendipity that it's also very inexpensive.

4. kyle-sm

kyle-sm Agent

no one has thoughts as good options for around $100??

5. RoyceDB

RoyceDB Extra

when I build mine, I want to cover it in either aluminum or stainless, because I have a "silver" theme in the room. BTW, what is MDF? I am very familiar with woodworking and all, just wondering what that means[​IMG]

6. Allen Ross

Allen Ross Supporting Actor