What's new

First attempt at Web Page...not going well. (1 Viewer)

Todd Hochard

Senior HTF Member
I'm having trouble with a web page. Aside from the fact I have no idea how to even get started, I can't seem to get anything to show, except for the main page.
Check it out- http://home.cfl.rr.com/doriplace
That page is sort a placeholder, to see if I could get anything there.
I've uploaded a few images to the /images folder, but can't seem to link to them, and get them to show. There should be a pic at http://home.cfl.rr.com/doriplace/barneyclose.jpg , but I can't get it to appear.
What am I doing wrong here?
Yes, I am WAY late to the game, particularly since I work in the semiconductor field. The irony is not lost on me.:)
I'm trying to set it up with FrontPage 2000.
Todd

Eric Samonte

Screenwriter
Frontpage as far as I know (which isn't much) is a bit picky on where it wants to be "published". I also had a hard time trying to put it up on MSN and at the local RoadRunner webpages like ur doing. I instead had to publish it all in angelfire. Try calling tech support at RR,..sometimes ( and I stress sometimes), they can help. Later on, u know, I did got to have it in RR, but was there for only a short time as I already changed ISPs.

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph
I see your 5 images at...
http://home.cfl.rr.com/doriplace/images/
What name have you given to this page where the images are stored? The defult is "index.html" unless you tell it specifically to look for another name by doing the following for example...
http://home.cfl.rr.com/doriplace/images/photos.htm
Note that above, I have named the page "photos.htm" instead of the default "index.html"
Take a look around my own site which should give you an idea on how to arrange directories and pages for your own site. I keep a seperate sub directory for every page on my site and I keep the default "index.html" as the name for each page so my main page is...