First 2-channel kit

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Andy Anderson, Jan 31, 2002.

1. Andy Anderson

Andy Anderson Second Unit

Folks-

I'm new to the DIY world (the only thing I've made so far is Flexy -style speaker stands), and would like to set up a DIY 2-channel system. I'm not as hardcore as some of you, and by no means a wiring guru. I've been perusing Zalytron and Madisound. Could someone suggest a great 2-channel bookshelf speaker kit that's around the $500 and below mark? (I plan to do a DIY or kit sub as well--would love suggestions for those too.)

Thanks guys,

Andy

2. jeff lam

jeff lam Screenwriter

Jeff Lam
    Are you going to build your own cabinets?
    I would recommend an excellent kit from GR-Research. The paradox1's or the AV1's can both be completed for under $500 and will sound excellent. They are very simple to build too. The crossover is only 5 components and is a series network, they also use the highest quality components like all foil inductors. I just built a pair of AV1's a little while ago and they are outstanding. I can't wait for Brian Bunge to build the kit and compare them to his ACI emeralds.
    http://www.gr-research.com/
    Give them a look.
    Also look for kits from Partsexpress, madisound, ACI, and speakerpage.

3. Andy Anderson

Thanks Jeff-
    I wasn't actually planning on building the cabinets. I might do that later on as I build some more, but for now, I was looking for an overall kit.
    I know--most of y'all are calling me a poser, right? [​IMG]
    Give me some time, and I'll be making Sonotubes with the rest of ya. [​IMG]
    Keep the suggestions coming, y'all. I'm a newbie in DIY for sure.
    Thanks.

4. Loren Jones

Loren Jones Agent

Andy,