What's new

Finally started work on my 1/350th scale 'TITANIC' model, it's been nuts so far! (1 Viewer)

Inspector Hammer!

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John Williamson
First off, I bought this model last year and have put off starting it for two reasons...
1. I knew i'd spend around 50+ bucks on the paint needed alone!
And...
2. I have never tackled a model of this complexity before, and was/is a bit intimidated.
But I finally started it, Friday night in fact I got to work. First I only bought the paints and other supplies that I needed RIGHT NOW, i.e. the main colors of the hull, and decks, some sand paper, masking tape, a hobby knife, paint thinner, and some brushes. Well, due to a lapse in communication with the guy at the hobby place, he sold me GLOSS nat wood paint instead of FLAT nat wood! :frowning:
I wish I found that out BEFORE I started painting the boat deck! :frowning: :frowning:
I ruined the boat deck! When I realized what had happened, I tried to remove the paint with the thinner I had bought, BIG MISTAKE!! It got rid of the color from the deck, but it left behind a sticky motor oil like goo that just would not come off, this was the base from the paint. I HATE TESTORS!!