Finally got hd from cable company, but no networks.

Discussion in 'TV Shows' started by Benson R, Dec 26, 2004.

  1. Benson R

    Benson R Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2000
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was just curious if anyone else had run into this problem.

    Anyway, I was excited because my cable company finally told me I could get and hd box from them. I rented the box and sprung for their hd programming package.

    The image quality is stunning, but I was quite disappointed to see that I didnt get any of the broadcast networks. I called and asked, and they said it might be months away.

    Has anyone else ran into this. I'm not going to spring for an ota reciever, and even if I did in my location I'm not going to get anything. I live within the ny market and all the network affiliates they carry now broadcast in hd.

    Is there any regulation that says they need to make available the networks in hd? What hurdle could be keeping them from including the networks.

    I have service electric of sparta in case anyone here who subscribes to them knows anything.
     
  2. Patrick_S

    Patrick_S Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,278
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    There could be some technical obstacles but most likely the biggest hurdle probably has to do with $$$.
     
  3. Adam_ME

    Adam_ME Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I currently receive about 10 channels if you exclude HBO and Showtime West which are just the East stations on a 3-hour delay. I'm still waiting for Time Warner to carry the WB affiliate in HD so I can watch Smallville. Maybe next year.
     
  4. Nathan_W

    Nathan_W Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Does your TW system have HDNet? They show two Smallville episodes Thursdays at 8 and 9 ET and repeat at 11 and 12.
    My local WB affiliate is not broadcasting in HD yet, lucky for me I got HDNet. Only thing is that they're on season 1 and 2 for now.
     
  5. nolesrule

    nolesrule Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    Real Name:
    Joe Kauffman
    I have brighthouse, formerly TW, and the we get our local ABC, CBS and FOX stations. We also get 2 other local educational stations. None of the other local stations are providing HD yet and our NBC affiliate has been a problem. They wouldn't even do a temporary deal during the Olympics.
     

Share This Page