Finally going separate...Need help.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Levesque, Jun 6, 2002.

  1. Levesque

    Levesque Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got a Yammie RX-V3200, and I want to add a Rotel amp. I'm a newbie to separate, and hesitate between: RB-1090 or RMB-1095. So clean 2 channels sound for front with 4 other channels powered by the Yammie, or 5x200W + Yammie for the rest...
    I got 4 Paradigm Studio-40 + 2 Studio-cc + Servo-15.
    So which choice will be best for me??
    Thanks for your help. AL
     
  2. Levesque

    Levesque Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got another question. The suitable amplifier power range for my Studio-40 is 15-180 watts. Is there a problem to drive those speakers with this kind of power?? By the way, I really prefer the sound of the Studio-40 over the Studio-100, so don't tell me to get those...
     
  3. Patrick vdb

    Patrick vdb Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do not see any problems driving speakers with a 15-180 Watt range with a 200 Watt amp. I would say that less power is more dangerously for the speakers then more because it is the clipping point (when amp reaches maximum power it can slice off frequencies which is called clipping) which damages the speakers in most cases. As long as you do not drive the speakers at 200 watt continuously ( and I assume you don't) then I do not see any problem with the Rotel.

    Because the amps of the Yamaha are less in quality then the Rotels I would chose to drive all 5 channels by the Rotel for the overall best result.

    Before purchasing a seperate amp you need to find out if the amp matches the Yamaha. Rotel and Yamaha have both a different character in sounding. The Rotel is more "creamier" and warm against the Yamaha which is more analytical or "chilly". If you want to put some warmth in the sounding then the Rotel looks like an ideal partner for the Yamaha but if you like the Yamaha sound then the Rotel most likely will change the sound too much. Try before you buy would be my advice.

    Best regards

    Patrick
     
  4. Levesque

    Levesque Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the answer. Can someone give me suggestion for a good match for my Yamaha RX-V3200 used as a pre/pro?? Probably there is someone out there that made the research before. Which company should I listen to for a good match??

    I'm still debating between a very good 2 channel amp, or a "less" good 5 channels amp.

    By the way, I'm talking about Rotel because I can have both of them for free (a dealer wants to give me one for an exchange of services...hehehe).
     
  5. Patrick vdb

    Patrick vdb Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you can get them for free then that's a fantastic oppertunity to test wether the Rotel matches with the Yamaha or not[​IMG]
    Best regards,
    Patrick
     
  6. James Tg

    James Tg Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Parasound amp is perfect match for Paradigm.
     
  7. Steve Morgan

    Steve Morgan Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 1999
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Farm in Kansas
    Real Name:
    Steve
    I concur with Parasound!I had the Studio 100's/CC450/ADP450's and Active 20's.I tried Receivers,DSP-A1, RX-V1 and Carver amp and the Citation 7.1 the Parasound 2205a just seemed like a perfect match for the digms.If you check the forum you will find that the parasound amps seem to work the best with the Studio series.BTW I have a Parasound 2205a for sell.Someone is going to get a good deal on this amp.If interested drop me an e-mail.

    Steve Morgan
     
  8. Levesque

    Levesque Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I fell so much like a newbie!! But how will I adjust the level of the individual speakers with AVIA?? The settings on the RX-V3200 as a pre/pro will be "used" by the amp?? I now it's a newb question, but it's my first experience with separates. Please explain the level adjustment when using separates. Thanx.
     
  9. Kevin. W

    Kevin. W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  10. Levesque

    Levesque Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Kev. I'm Canadian too (French canadian, that's why my spelling is so bad). I didn't decide to add a new amp, but a company from whom I buy a lot of stock, often offers me "gifts" in exchange for my "patronnage". They told me "any Rotel amp you want is on us..."... So I'm adding a new Rotel amp to my system... Hehehe I'm an happy camper...
     
  11. Nick V

    Nick V Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Levesque,
    If I was you, I'd take the RMB-1095 for free. I think it might be dangerous to power speakers with a max input of 180 watts with 380 watts of power(RB-1090).
    By the way, you are one lucky bastard!![​IMG]
     
  12. Patrick vdb

    Patrick vdb Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The amplifacation of the receivers are of a lesser quality then the amplifacation of seperate amps (better and bigger powersupply to drive the amp less distortion because processing and amplifacation is seperated more stable power-output and much more). Adding a seperate Amp to a receiver will surely be a step forward in soundquality. Even when the receiver is rated at for example 5x 125Watt and you add a seperate Amp rated at the same level will bring you more quality and power-output.

    If you can get if for free then surely try it

    Best regards

    Patrick
     
  13. Sihan Goi

    Sihan Goi Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you intend to upgrade gradually, or is this your last amplification upgrade for a while? If its the former, then I'd get the 1090 to power your fronts first, leaving the Yamaha to do the rest. If its the latter, then I'd get the 1095 to do everything.

    Music wise, the former will sound better out of the box, but HT wise, the latter will be a more balanced solution.
     
  14. Levesque

    Levesque Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanx all for your time. Sinan, don't ask me if it's my last upgrade, because I'm suffering from a major case of "upgraditis nerversatisfieditis"!!!! I'm changing amps almost every year, car every 2 years, computer every 6 months, new TV every year!!! And I have to do all this with my mother-in-law not even noticing... Wow!

    But I just ordered the RMB-1095 (5X200). They were not able to tell me if this amp is disponible in silver like some other Rotel. Anyone knows if I can expect a silver unit??

    I got another question. What are those "balanced" input they talk about?? Different from standard RCA?? Can somone suggest good interconnects between a pre/pro and the amp?? Do I use standard (high quality) RCA to RCA??

    My god, I start to sound like my mother-in-law with all this questionning...
     
  15. Sihan Goi

    Sihan Goi Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AFAIK, the RMB-1095 is available in black only. I haven't seen, heard or read about a silver unit. It looks pretty good in black though, but some might not like its design.

    Balanced input are different from normal unbalanced input that usually use RCA connectors. Balanced input usually use XLR connectors and are better shielded/protected from interference. However, not all equipment are fully balanced, even though they might support balanced input/output. Therefore, the advantages of balanced audio is not reaped fully, or at all. The Rotel RMB-1095 for example has balanced input but is not fully balanced. In fact, IIRC the measurements for its balanced input are even worse than that of its unbalanced RCA input.

    For the pre/pro to the amp, a decent RCA-RCA connector will do. Personally I'm using Catcables SilverCats.
     
  16. Levesque

    Levesque Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanx Sihan for this nice explanation. So I can buy any decent RCA to RCA interconnect to put between the RX-V3200 and the RMB-1095 and live without remorse because I didn't buy really fancy and pricey interconnect??
     
  17. Bill Kane

    Bill Kane Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    eh bien...
    well, you ought to be satisfied that you're getting something better than RadioShack Gold for this major upgrade.
    I use (5) CatCables BlueTigers after deciding the Silvers might be "too bright" with my Yamaha. Many find the Outlaw cables attractive at a very fair price HERE
     
  18. Levesque

    Levesque Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone knows a Canadian site where I can order good cables?? The exchange rate is killing us!!
     

Share This Page