Final Dilema ... 57SWX20B or 57HDX82

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by aruso, Sep 12, 2002.

1. aruso

aruso Auditioning

Hi ALL,

New around here and nowhere near as savvy as all you experts. Was just wondering which RPTV to go for and why. I’ve heard good things about both of these sets and also bad things too. I can get a really good deal on both of these, (cost) thanks to my buddy who is a reseller. F.Y.I this is my first RPTV and I am a novice in the Home Theater realm. Any advice will greatly help.

Thanks in advance

Anthony

2. Mark Lehmkuhl

Mark Lehmkuhl Stunt Coordinator

3. rougehiller

rougehiller Extra

I am a newbie as well and I too was deabting between the same two sets, but now leaning heavily towards Toshiba (haven't bought either yet). The two main reasons are: 1. The price - Hitachi is ~CAD 1000 more over here in Canada (not sure about US pricing). Ironically enough, 65" versions are the same price here!!! 2. Toshiba's stretch modes for viewing 4:3 material.
    However, according to forum posts, Toshibas suffered from many quality control issues at least in the first few batches of manufacturing. This issue seems to have been corrected in later batches.
    In addition to AVS Forum thread Mark has pointed, you may also want to read:
    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=165474 (especially, post #12 by Les H)
    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=167038

4. aruso

aruso Auditioning

thanks ... very informative.

I live in Canada too. What does the 57SWX sell for in your area.

Thanks

5. Les Holt

Les Holt Agent

6. rougehiller

rougehiller Extra

Good to know of another Canuck in the same boat[​IMG] !
    In Toronto (GTA) area, 57SWX20B pretty much averages at MSRP $5299 (no discounts). OTOH, 57HDX82 retails at $4299 with some discounts (MSRP $4999) up to 15%!!!
    For further pricing/availability info read this Digital Home Canada Forum thread .
    Good luck!

7. Levesque