Film Schools in Toronto

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Alek Hidell, May 16, 2004.

1. Alek Hidell

Alek Hidell Auditioning

Hey guys, I'm new to HTF, and you guys seem to be pretty knowlegable about film and DVD so I'd thought I'd get some opinions.

I'm a clerk at Blacks Photography and I've recently been getting the urge to follow my dreams (cheezy i know!) and go to film school. I want to know if this is a good move- will it really lead to work in the film industry? I was thinking about applying to Ryerson University. I went to see some screenings of their graduate class a couple years back at the Bloor cinema and was really impressed with the quality of films (for amatuers anyway)

Does anyone know anything about the program at Ryerson or others like York? Thanks for your help.

2. Michael Pakula

Michael Pakula Second Unit

It really depends on how dedicated to film you are. There aren't many film schools in Toronto that offer film programs and most just offer some techincal courses or just film theory. If your looking into production courses than there are a few exceptions like you mentioned Ryerson and York. They offer a both film theory and production courses and even a combination of both. I think the a combination of both the film history and production courses is what more schools should offer as it expands your mind to many different types of cinema you never thought about watching and inspire your own ideas in your own future projects as well as just for the love of film.