What's new

Figuring my Ground Loop Out (1 Viewer)

Steve Young

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Steve Young
I have been working on getting the ground loop hum out of my system for a couple of years now. It all started when I put my first amp (with a 3 prong plug) into my system. I then added a second amp (also with the 3 prong plug) for my subs. I then bought a Panamax MAX5100 hoping to fix my problem. In my system I have 2 satellite dishes so I could only run the antenna for one of them through the Panamax, because the other coax connection is for CATV. The only way I could get rid of the hum was to use cheater connectors on the amp cords, which isn't a good idea, seeing that I am an electrician and know the dangers of this. Well I did a test just the other day by hooking everything up normally and the hum was still there, which I expected. I removed the antenna connection going to the IRD that isn't connected through the Panamax and the hum disappears completely. Now what I am thinking is that all I need is another isolator for the other dish antenna cable. Does anyone know if there is such a thing for isolating a DBS cable on it's own, or do I have to buy another surge protector with the DBS protection built into it?

Sorry to ramble on.
Thanks for any help.

Steve

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
Yes there is. Jensen transformers has a variety of products that'll do that with neglible insertion loss. You've got to pick the right one for the frequecies in question but then that's what toll free #'s are for.

Steve Young

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Steve Young
The problem is that the Sat uses a higher bandwidth, and the Panamax unit covers from 950Mhz to 2.2Ghz and 27V clamping. I guess I could always buy another smaller Panamax bar.

Steve

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Steve,

How is the grounding done on your antennas? If it’s going back to the electrical ground stake at the breaker panel, you shouldn’t have a ground loop problem.