What's new

fiber optic cable...any reason to upgrade it?? (1 Viewer)

Colin Goddard

Stunt Coordinator
Greetings everyone!! I'm a newbie to this forum and I have a rookie question. I am looking to buy new fiber optic cable for my connection between my dvd player(Toshiba sd 3109) and my reciever{Onkyo Integra dtr 7). I accidently put a "kink" in the old AR fiber optic cable. It cost around $30 bucks a year ago from BB. I've been shopping around and found some Monster Cable ILS200 for $80. It is much thicker than my old cable, but is it worth the xtra bucks???? What could I possibly expect with any improved performance?? Thanks in advance for all your comments.
Colin Goddard
p.s. everyones advice on svsubwoofers was right on. I got the 16-46 about 3 months ago. Its fantastic!!
biggrin.gif

Alf S

BANNED
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Alfer
I third that!!
p.s.
Welcome aboard! :)
Alfer
------------------
Check out my new Home Theater site and my NEW HT 6.1 Pic's at Link Removed
Join my new Yahoo "Club Enormodome" for LIVE HT and DVD chats at: Link Removed

Bruce Hedtke

Senior HTF Member
An $80 optical is gonna transmit the same 1's and 0's as a $10 cable. Don't pay for a name if you don't have to.
Bruce
------------------
mstprev.gif

Welcome aboard the Satellite of Love

dougW

Stunt Coordinator
I recommend you forgo the optical and jump to a digital coax, provided you have the connections which I would think you should, unless your using them elsewhere. Generally much smoother, less "digital" sounding is the reason why.
Lex
------------------
Lexman's Theater

James Nguyen

Second Unit
I recommend you forgo the optical and jump to a digital coax, provided you have the connections which I would think you should, unless your using them elsewhere. Generally much smoother, less "digital" sounding is the reason why.