Feedback for Marantz/Paradigm combo

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dan Workman, Sep 24, 2002.

1. Dan Workman

Dan Workman Extra

I am just starting out in HT and just wanted some feedback regarding what I am considering. So far I have the Mitsubishi WS-55819 TV and Toshiba SD4800 DVD player. I have been looking into receivers, speakers and subs and here is what I am considering:

Marantz 5200 receiver
    Paradigm speakers:
    Titans for mains
    CC170 for center
    Atoms for rears
    PDR-10 for a subwoofer

Room size is about 21 by 16 with an 8 ft ceiling. Use will be about 60% HT and 40% music. Pricing out this receiver and speakers, the cost will be about $1400-$1500. Anybody else have this combo or close that can comment? Also, any other Paradigm combo I should consider that will keep this receiver/speaker/sub package around $1500 (or up to $2000 tops)?

Thanks in advance for the input!

Dan

2. StephanieM

StephanieM Extra

I too am interested in any feedback on pairing Paradigm with Marantz. In particular, the Monitor 11s/CC-370/PDR-12/minis with the 7200 receiver. I've been reading about the new 7300 release (a dealer told me he expects Christmas release) but unfortunately cannot wait that long. Any feedback is appreciated as I'm torn between the 7200 and the Denon 3802. Thanks.

3. JohnBrianW.

JohnBrianW. Stunt Coordinator

I've listened to the monitor series and personally didn't like them. To me the B&W 600 series sounds much cleaner. What I did like even more than the B&W's was Paradigm's reference series. Personally, if I was sticking with Paradigm I would go with 2 studio 20's and the studio CC. Some other speakers that I've really liked are Totem and Axiom, and in particular as mentioned the VP150 and either the M50 or the M40.
    I've also heard good things about M&K and loook forward to auditioning

4. Jeff D.

Jeff D. Supporting Actor