Federal Pacific Electric circuit breakers anyone know anything about them?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by TonyD, May 3, 2005.

  1. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,298
    Likes Received:
    474
    Location:
    Disney World and Universal Florida
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    i have a fpe breAKER box panel in my house.
    i went to the usual places
    to try and get a replacement couple
    of breakers but it turns out that
    no one carries this brand any more.

    so does anyone have these in there house?

    i have stablock style breakers.

    i see some on ebay being sold,
    but was just wondering if anyone
    had info on the brand.

    i'm doing a new ht room and was
    going to add new wiring an ad some dedicated
    breakers for the electricity in the room.

    until i found out they are apparently discontinued.
    i hope someone here knows why.

    i can't really spend a ton of money on a complete new box panel.
     
  2. SteveLeach

    SteveLeach Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm... I don't know that you'd have to replace the whole panel.
    I'm not an electrician, but I think if you could locate a 50amp breaker you could then install a sub-panel off of the existing one. Then run your new circuits to that.
     
  3. George_W_K

    George_W_K Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Ohio
    Real Name:
    George
    Federal Pacific panels and breakers have a bad reputation. Their breakers have been known to not trip when they are supposed to, which causes fires. A lot of them also didn't seat well in the panel, making them loose, causing arcs at the contacts. Eventually, the contacts would either burn up, or start a fire. I don't know if it was certain manufacturing years that were the problem, but I do know that I don't trust them at all. A buddy of mine has FP in his house. He wired up a 3-way switch as a dead short, but the breaker didn't trip, it just smoked. If he didn't turn the breaker off as quickly as he did, it definitely would have started on fire.

    I'm not trying to scare you, I'm just trying to inform you about the problems with Federal Pacific. There are plenty of people who haven't had a problem with their FP panels. They were used in a lot of developments in the 80s, at least around here.

    Try doing a search on Federal Pacific. I did last summer and came up with a lot of info.
     
  4. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,298
    Likes Received:
    474
    Location:
    Disney World and Universal Florida
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    thanks for the info.

    we have been here for 5 years and the house is about 35.

    the only trouble we have had is them tripping too easily.

    a vacuum downstaira and a blowdyer upstairs will do it every time.
     
  5. George_W_K

    George_W_K Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Ohio
    Real Name:
    George
    Most vacuums draw about 12-15 amps, I think. A blow dryer around 10. Your going to easily blow a 15 amp circuit, and most likely a 20. I know that would get annoying to me![​IMG] Have you tried using a different plug for the vacuum? I had that problem a few years ago. I'd have the entertainment center running and my lady would bring out the vacuum. TRIP! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page