Favorite Pasta Recipes?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by JohnE, Sep 11, 2003.

1. JohnE

JohnE Supporting Actor

Well seeing as how Lew and Angelo have me salivating all over my keyboard over in the pizza thread I thought I would start a new one for everyone to offer up their favorite pasta recipes and tips.

I confess I'm starting this thread in the hopes of getting some good recipes for myself since I have none to offer myself =). I'm a competent cook and can follow directions well enough but lack the skill and flair required to take a recipe and turn it into something really great.

Hopefully some of you will have some recipes or tips for pasta, sauces, breads, wines and anything else I'm missing to share.

Thanks.

2. Glenn Overholt

Glenn Overholt Producer

The Italians aren't going to give those away.

However, if you want something different, when you do get one that you like with lasagna, mix everything together, lay the pasta out on a table, drop everything on the the strips and roll them up. You can wrap them up and freeze them alone or in pairs and they are just great!

Glenn

3. Chris Tsutsui

Chris Tsutsui Screenwriter

Sometimes I like pasta without tangy marinara or white sauce.

So what I do is this:

Cook noodles till they are perfect (not too soft so they break apart, and not chewy) in salt water. (About as salty as the pacific ocean) [​IMG]

Get the highest quality olive oil you can find, (Sometimes greener the better). Then drain the water out of the noodles so that the noodles are hot, and put a serving on top of a plate with like 1 tblsp olive oil and gently toss it together.

The hot noodles will absorb the olive oil flavor and then all you add is topings/garnish such as:

Kalamata Olives or something similar
    Sun Dried Tomatoes
    Grated parmasean cheese or romano etc.
    Italian seasoning etc.