family "simple" mode

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by itai, Sep 5, 2002.

  1. itai

    itai Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all
    how can i feed both the reciever and the tv with the signals from the dbs box?
    we need the tv to be used without the ht monster woken up each time...(guess who's phrase is that...)
    should i split the wires?
    [​IMG] thanks
     
  2. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Does the DBS box have more than one audio output which you can use at the same time? If not, splitting should work fine (analog). If the DBS box is using a digital audio out, you probably can't go direct to the TV anyway.

    Does the TV have both audio input and ouput? If it does, you can use the audio output of the TV (which will almost certainly be analog stereo) to loop to the receiver and listen to whatever is on the TV at the time, providing sound is being fed to the TV. With the receiver off, you will still have sound on the TV.
     
  3. itai

    itai Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks john, it does have more outputs, [​IMG]
     
  4. Jesse Skeen

    Jesse Skeen Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    226
    Way back when, my roommates wouldn't bother to turn on the amps when watching TV, so I finally stuck something in the earphone jack to turn off the built-in speaker, then broke it off so it stayed plugged in [​IMG]
     

Share This Page