Extremely newbie question Re: DVD TV vs. DVD ROM

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ricardo C, Feb 21, 2002.

1. Ricardo C

Ricardo C Producer

I'm not very knowledgeable at all about video signal processing. Although I'm a computer buff and make a living as a programmer, I've never really gotten into that particular area.

When I watch a DVD on my TV, the image looks crisp, and the colors vibrant. When I watch it on my PC (Power DVD 4 and a GeForce 2 card), the video looks like, well, MPEG video (which dvd is, I know). The image, while great, looks "softer" than the image I see on TV, and the colors tend to sometimes look as if the image had a 256-color palette. Does anyone know the effect I'm referring to?

Do I need a better video card? Or am I simply seeing the "true" content of my disc on my monitor and the crisper image I see on TV is more the result of the way the TV handles the signal my DVD player is feeding it? (I have noticed than whenever I hook up my computer to my TV and watch mov or avi files on it, the video tends to look crisper, if less detailed (in my eyes.)

2. Bill Catherall

Bill Catherall Screenwriter

It's probably due to the difference in the way monitors display things vs. TVs. Monitors have pixels and TVs have scan lines. So the scan lines from the DVD video have to be reconfigured to be displayed as pixels on a monitor and that's probably why you're seeing some artifacts that you don't see on TV. So because of the fundamental differences between the two display devices I don't think there's anything you can do to "fix it."

3. Ricardo C

Ricardo C Producer

Thanks, Bill [​IMG]
    And what would happen if I used my PC to feed the image to a CRT/DLP/LCD projector? Will I see the same image quirks I see on my monitor once I project it?

4. Bill Catherall

No, because they're made to display NTSC video.

5. Ricardo C

Ricardo C Producer

Thanks again! [​IMG]