External Hard Drives

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Chris-C, Nov 15, 2003.

  1. Chris-C

    Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well having read the thread below i'm a little hesitant to attempt this,but I feel I need an external HD for my laptop to process video (converting SVHS to DVD).

    The video program I use even mentions using an external HD.

    Saw an Maxtor 80G at Best Buy-do you think this is a good idea???
    Or will i screw up my new laptop?

    Regards

    CC
     
  2. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    If you're worried about an external drive screwing up your laptop? If so how do you think it could damage your laptop?

    Though I have no experience with external HD's, i see no reason the HD could damage your notebook. It basically plugs into your notebook via firewire or USB2.0, and power is provided usually by an AC Adaptor. Nothing risky in the connection...

    There may be something im overlooking, however, so take my advice with a grain of salt (I never knew how the hell this saying works... Grain of salt? Meh, whatever, i know how its used though)
     
  3. Ken Scott

    Ken Scott Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya nickso's right. theres almost nothing that modifies your laptop whatsoever. and thats if, and only if your OS doesnt happened to have a driver for the specific drive you get. and if you have win XP you'll have a 99.99999998% chance your laptop will recognise it. i left that .00000002% just incase through a miracle im wrong.

    if you haven't got the drive yet go here and you'll find an awesome deal on an ex drive.
     
  4. Gary_E

    Gary_E Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 6, 1999
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chris,

    If you haven't bought the drive yet, Best Buy has a Maxtor 120 GIG on sale for $169.00 after rebates. If you plan on working with video, I would suggest you get the biggest drive you can afford. Video files are HOGS.

    I have 3 of these drives and they install easily and function quite well. This particular drive does not have a FIREWIRE connection but it is still a good drive for the money.

    Regards,
    -Gary
     
  5. Seth--L

    Seth--L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    A drive that connects to your computer through a firewire port though is most recommendable.

    You can only potentially cause damage to the drive and the computer if you disconnect/reconnect it while the computer is on. Always shut the computer off before adding and removing.
     
  6. Chris-C

    Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all the Help!

    I do have firewire,and USB 2.0-should I definately go for a firewire only unit?

    Or is USB 2.0 fast enough for video transfers?

    Thanks again

    CC Rider
     
  7. JamesHl

    JamesHl Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Theoretically USB 2 is actually faster, but in my practical experience firewire has always been faster (this is with apple products, though).
     
  8. Chris-C

    Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks again-you guys are the best!

    Picked up the Maxtor 120G today,and will try to connect tonite-Yikes!!!

    Should be no problem,and look forward to it.

    Evidently-external HD's cannot help when burning DVD's,but can help with capturing video from vcr's???

    I'm wingin it here folks.
    I plan on tranfering a lot of my old tapes (svhs)to DVD.
    Hopefully this ext hd will help with the tapes.

    CC
     
  9. Ken Scott

    Ken Scott Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in reply to chris c and seth l's post, i like usb2 because it is more PnP compatible compared to firewire, you can unplug and plug them in when ever u want (even while in windows). the transfer rate is slightly in favor for firewire but ease of use wise i say go with usb 2. slightly slower but isnt a huge deal unless speed is desperately needed.
     
  10. JamesHl

    JamesHl Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Uh... firewire has the same level of pnp compatibility as USB 2. I'm not sure what you're talking about there.
     
  11. Chris-C

    Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Moot point about the firewire as the Maxtor I bought is USB 2.0 only (probably why it's on sale).

    ok to reason it out though.

    Looks like it will monday for the setup (too busy tonite)

    It says to disable your toolbar before ?? close all programs???

    Is this necessary for XP?

    Thanks

    CC
     
  12. Seth--L

    Seth--L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    What do you mean "help"? It's just a hard drive.
     
  13. Chris-C

    Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When copying DVD's-they're stored in the tempory internet files/folders? which takes up room on my HD.

    Hopefully they delete,but i'm watching my internal HD fill up as we speak.

    I was hoping to use the external HD in this situation,but they sat I can't.
    As long as the files delete automatically I guess that will be ok-I just wanted to use the external HD to save wear and tear on my tiny laptop HD.

    CC
     
  14. Dan Mercier

    Dan Mercier Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 1999
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One thing to note is to make sure the drive you get is a
    fast drive. I read that 7200rpm drives are the required
    minimum to get no dropped frames for DV editing. Not sure
    about the specific drive you picked up but some of the
    external drives on market are actually just 2.5" laptop
    drives which are rarely 7200rpm.

    As for copying dvd's I think you can set your temporary folder
    in winxp to be any folder on any drive you want. Sorry I
    haven't looked this up for you but you should be able to
    find info on doing so somewhere.

    Dan
     
  15. Seth--L

    Seth--L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Yes. Very true and important to note.
     
  16. Chris-C

    Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Spin Rate on box sez 7200-looks like i'm ok-thanks.

    Still haven't loaded it up yet (can you say chchchicken)

    Trying to figure out what this "quit all application's,including the applications icons on your taskbar-right side)????

    Not sure how to do this,and it's creeping me outtttttt!

    Do they just want me to "hide my toolbar" ?
    Only programs running I think are Norton AntiVirus (which I know how to disable) WeatherBug,and Wireless internet connection-

    Sorry to be clueless
    Don't want to F**kup the install.

    CC
     
  17. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    The hard drive should be pretty much plug and play as people have stated earlier...

    The safest way i would do it is:
    1. Shut down computer
    2. Connect external hard drive
    3. Reboot computer.

    Windows should install some drivers, but once thats done, itll just show up as another hard drive in your "my Computer" and windows explorer.

    As for shutting down the toolbars and whatnot, i dont think its necesary to do anything special when installing the hard drive. Maybe you should shut down background programs for downloading video to the drive, but not to install it.

    However, like i said, i have no experience with external HD's or the one from maxtor, but If i had one, that's what I'd do.
     
  18. Chris-C

    Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's in/on,and working like a champ!!!!!!!!!!!

    I didn't even wet myself once [​IMG]

    Even reformatted it for NTFS(sez to do that for video work)way cool!!!!!!

    Now have additional 111 gig's to play with.

    Can't belive how smooth it went-with all your support of course!

    Now it's on to Video editing and transfering-can't wait.

    Thanks again

    CC
     
  19. Ken Chan

    Ken Chan Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 1999
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  20. Chris-C

    Chris-C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where the heck is that "safetly remove" button????

    Hopefully will find it-

    right now i'm able to power it off with the switch behind with no problem,but as yet haven't found the remove/disconect button (probably right under my nose).

    Regards
    CC
     

Share This Page