What's new

External Hard Drives (1 Viewer)

Chris-C

Stunt Coordinator
Well having read the thread below i'm a little hesitant to attempt this,but I feel I need an external HD for my laptop to process video (converting SVHS to DVD).

The video program I use even mentions using an external HD.

Saw an Maxtor 80G at Best Buy-do you think this is a good idea???
Or will i screw up my new laptop?

Regards

CC

NickSo

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Nick So
If you're worried about an external drive screwing up your laptop? If so how do you think it could damage your laptop?

Though I have no experience with external HD's, i see no reason the HD could damage your notebook. It basically plugs into your notebook via firewire or USB2.0, and power is provided usually by an AC Adaptor. Nothing risky in the connection...

There may be something im overlooking, however, so take my advice with a grain of salt (I never knew how the hell this saying works... Grain of salt? Meh, whatever, i know how its used though)

Ken Scott

Agent
ya nickso's right. theres almost nothing that modifies your laptop whatsoever. and thats if, and only if your OS doesnt happened to have a driver for the specific drive you get. and if you have win XP you'll have a 99.99999998% chance your laptop will recognise it. i left that .00000002% just incase through a miracle im wrong.

if you haven't got the drive yet go here and you'll find an awesome deal on an ex drive.

Gary_E

Second Unit
Chris,

If you haven't bought the drive yet, Best Buy has a Maxtor 120 GIG on sale for $169.00 after rebates. If you plan on working with video, I would suggest you get the biggest drive you can afford. Video files are HOGS.

I have 3 of these drives and they install easily and function quite well. This particular drive does not have a FIREWIRE connection but it is still a good drive for the money.

Regards,
-Gary

Seth--L

Screenwriter