External box available to add low voltage trigger for amps without?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by JimmyK, Apr 19, 2003.

  1. JimmyK

    JimmyK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Jim
    I'm using 3 external amps in my system. My Parasound amp has a connection for a low voltage trigger to power it on and off. My other 2 amps, Hafler DH200, do not have such a trigger.

    Is there such a thing as a box I can plug the Hafler amps into so that I can use the low voltage trigger on my Anthem AVM20 pre/proc to turn all the amps on/off?

    Thanks!
    JimmyK
     
  2. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jimmy,

    One possibility is to find something like a power strip, line conditioner, or similar that can accept a 12V trigger. I believe Panamax makes these (or did). The idea is that the trigger would turn on the power strip, which in turn would supply power to whatever was plugged into it.

    I have not tried this myself nor have I seen a system with such a setup. The one possible downfall is that the amps connected to this type of power strip would be completely powered off rather than be in a standby mode (if they have one). I leave it to you to decide if there is an issue with the amps warming up.

    Michael
     
  3. JimmyK

    JimmyK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Jim
    Thanks for the response!

    Right now all 3 amps are plugged in to a power strip that I use to manually turn the amps on/off.

    The Parasound has a standby mode, the Haflers do not. Of course when I turn the power strip off, the Parasound amp goes completely off.

    JimmyK
     
  4. Bill Kane

    Bill Kane Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jimmy,

    Since you mention Parasound, Ive seen recomendations for the Parasound SCAMP, a 4# power center with surge protection and basically a delayed timer function. Comesa with 2 outlets and can be daisy chained.

    Dont see the price, but it's certainly solid seeming. Lotsa refs off parasound website and in Google.
     
  5. Ricky T

    Ricky T Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 1999
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's the $17.99 solution...the Sear's Auto Switcher. 3 Outlets...the tool/component plugged into the top outlet will activate the bottom two "switched" outlets. Plug your parasound into the top...and have your prepro turn the Parasound ON & OFF, then the parasound will activate the switched outlets (for your other two amps).

    All three of my parasound amps do not have triggers, so I only have to turn ONE of them on/off as the Auto Switcher takes care of the other two (which, of course, are always "flipped" ON).

    You can also plug the Auto Switcher into the Surge Proctector. Also, I tried the Parasound Scamp 3 years ago, drove me nuts!

    http://www.sears.com/sr/product/summ...id=00924031000
     
  6. JimmyK

    JimmyK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Jim
    Thanks for the suggestions. I'll check them out and see what will work for me.

    JimmyK
     

Share This Page