even FASTER page loads with Firefox? Its possible

Discussion in 'Computers' started by NickSo, Dec 9, 2004.

  1. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
  2. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah definitely a bit snappier. Nice one.

    What would be good though, is if they could make the application as a whole load faster. The single biggest obstacle I run into when trying to convince people to use Firefox is that it just takes a bit too long to load up. Granted these people are invariably using slightly older machines but seeing load times of 15-30 seconds is not unusual. They could do with having some of the libraries and whatnot load when the OS boots so it's always 'there', like IE.
     
  3. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    48,688
    Likes Received:
    5,675
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Holy Crappola!

    Noticeably faster!

    Thanks for this.
     
  4. Geoff::L

    Geoff::L Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! It actually works.
     
  5. Greg*go

    Greg*go Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What does it do? It asked for my Firefox folder, instead of my profile folder, so I presume it hasn't touched my profile at all? Seems a bit odd, and I don't notice a speed up at all.

    But then, when I clicked on the patch button, it couldn't find the right folder, and when I clicked on the right folder it asked me if I was sure that was the correct folder. That just made it seem odder?

    edit: hmm, it has appeared to change my font styles?
     
  6. Tekara

    Tekara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well the patch itself allows firefox to open up multpiple connections to download a page with. Very much like a download accelerator.

    I just ran the patching program hit the button and that was it.

    Works like a champ, big big difference.
     
  7. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info. I did it through the Tweak Network extension also mentioned in that thread.
     
  8. Mike~Sileck

    Mike~Sileck Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow def. noticed a difference. Thanks!
     
  9. Mark Dubbelboer

    Mark Dubbelboer Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 1999
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks

    I never really had any complaints about load times, but I'll take your guys word that it's a bit faster now[​IMG]
     
  10. Seth--L

    Seth--L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    You can speed up the loading of Firefox on Windows XP by adding it to the programs that XP "prefetches."

    To do this, right-click the Start Menu item for Firefox, or any icon you use to start Firefox, and open the Properties dialog box. Add a space plus /Prefetch:1 to the command line and click OK. The resulting line might look as follows:

    "C:Program FilesMozilla Firefoxfirefox.exe" /Prefetch:1
     
  11. Chuck Stephens

    Chuck Stephens Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WOW, thanks for the heads up on this. I'm definitely seeing a difference[​IMG]
     
  12. Chris_Morris

    Chris_Morris Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It can also be done this way:


    You guys never saw this before? [​IMG] It was one of the first modifications I made to Firebird (as it was called then)

    Chris
     
  13. Tekara

    Tekara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm, none of the options you laid out were set to the values that you suggested, I'm not so sure that this patch and your configuration work the same way.
     
  14. Chris_Morris

    Chris_Morris Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What settings does it set the pipelining options too?
    ( I have not seen the patch as it wouldn't let me download it )

    Chris
    ( my settings are not set like above, those are just suggestions, mine are:user_pref("network.http.max-connections", 128);
    user_pref("network.http.max-connections-per-server", 16);
    user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy", 16);
    user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
    user_pref("network.http.pipelining.firstrequest", false);
    user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", 128);
    user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);
    user_pref("browser.xul.error_pages.enabled", true);
    user_pref("browser.cache.memory.capacity", 8192);
    user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);
    /* Turn on timer-based reflow management */
    user_pref("content.notify.ontimer", true);
    /* Sets the allowed time between reflows in microseconds */
    user_pref("content.notify.interval", 10);
    /* Set the number of reflows to do before waiting for the rest of the page to arrive */
    user_pref("content.notify.backoffcount", 200);

    I'm just assuming that it is creating a User.js file in the Firefox profile directory and setting some of these, which are usually tied into faster page loading, once I get the patch downloaded, I'll check it out)
     
  15. Chris_Morris

    Chris_Morris Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, got the patch and tried it (renamed my user.js file first). Started up Firebird (0.7) and noticed no change. It had not created a user.js file in the 0.7 profile directory. However, it had created a user.js file in the Firefox profile and it contained 3 lines: pipelining to true, maxrequests to 100 and proxy pipelining to true. Firefox uses setting in the user.js file over any others, but Firebird 0.7 has the user.js in a different place which is why it didn't accept the changes.

    Short answer is that it is turning on pipelining, and that will make a huge difference in page load speeds.

    Chris
     
  16. Kevin T

    Kevin T Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    all i get is a 404 error.

    kevin t
     
  17. ScottHH

    ScottHH Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kevin, you don't have to download anything. Chris has told you how to do it by hand (and not have to run an executable that you downloaded off the internet, which is always better):

    1. Type "about:config" in the address field. (where you currently see "http://www.hometheaterforum.com..." Note there are no spaces in "about:config".

    A whole bunch of settings will come up. Change these three:

    2. Set the value of network.http.pipelining to "true".
    3. Set the value of network.http.pipelining.maxrequests to "100".
    4. Set the value of network.http.proxy.pipelining to "true"

    That's it.
     
  18. Chris_Morris

    Chris_Morris Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Same problem I had. I eventually found the patch at www.luketrewin.com the website of the guy who created it.

    Chris
     

Share This Page