ERROR -> Page_Fault_in_nonpaged_Area

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Glenn Overholt, Oct 5, 2004.

1. Glenn Overholt

Glenn Overholt Producer

I'm hoping this will catch someone's eye.

I'm running XP home w/SP1 - NO SP2 2gig CPU w/512 memory
    No Network, just a dial-up (like for coming here!)
    Installed Sept 10, '04
    Last item loaded/change made: Sept. 13

Yesterday I turned this off at 3 and went out. When I turned it back on around 4, it wouldn't even boot! I'd end up with a blue screen with that message, along with pile of crap that didn't do me any good at all.

I put the XP CD in as a last resort to have it repair my install, but it got stuck, and ended up in an endless "we will now continue your installation, to a stop, a reboot, and it starts all over again.

Fortunately, I have a 2nd physical hard drive, s I swapped the start-up drive and installed XP Home on that.

No brand names - I've been building PC's since 1985.

Now, can someone explain what happened? I haven't ereased my old OS yet, hoping there's a clue in there that someone here can find.

Thanks in advance
    Glenn

2. Mike Fassler

Mike Fassler Supporting Actor

what are the error codea it gives? I can answer your question with those [​IMG] there are a ton of things that can give stop errors such as this, the codes help you identify what program or whatever is causing the error,sometimes corrupt stuff on drives or bad memory cause these kind of errors as well. All else fails format the drive, and you will be up and running again.

The Stop 0x50 message indicates that requested data was not in memory. The system generates an exception error when using a reference to an invalid system memory address. Defective memory (including main memory, L2 RAM cache, video RAM) or incompatible software (including remote control and antivirus software) might cause Stop 0x50 messages.

Interpreting the Message

This Stop message has four parameters:

1. Memory address that caused the fault.